The Queen of the Night

The Queen of the Night by Alexander Chee
Publisher : Penguin UK
Release : 2016-04-21
More Info
Recommended by The Observer . . . 'One doesn't so much read it, as one is bewitched by it. Epic, gorgeous, haunting' HANYA YANAGIHARA, author of A Little Life When it begins, it begins as an opera should begin: in a palace, at a ball, in an encounter with a stranger, who you discover has your fate in his hands . . . She is Lilliet Berne. And she is the soprano. 1882. One warm autumn evening in Paris, Lilliet is finally offered an original role, though it comes at a price. The part is based on her deepest secret. Only four people could have betrayed her: one is dead, one loves her still, one wants only to own her. And one, she hopes, never thinks of her at all. In taking this role Lilliet is forced to confront her darkest lies but will the truth save Lilliet - or destroy her? 'Brilliantly extravagant' VOGUE 'Terrific' NEW YORKER

The Queen of the Night (Ancient Rome Mysteries, Book 3)

The Queen of the Night (Ancient Rome Mysteries, Book 3) by Paul Doherty
Publisher : Hachette UK
Release : 2012-10-30
More Info
The slightest mistake could cost her life... In the summer of 314AD, dark figures lurking in the twilight of Roman society are on the prowl, and Rome is shocked by a series of gruesome murders in Paul Doherty's third novel featuring imperial secret agent Claudia. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Davis and Steven Saylor. 'The master of historical whodunit' - Booklist Rome: August 314AD, and as the sun's insidious heat beats down, murderous forces lurk in the underbelly of the city. The normally cosseted world of Rome's rich and powerful is rocked by a series of violent abductions, as children of the elite are kidnapped and held for ransom. Meanwhile, veteran soldiers, men who served Constantine along the Great Wall in northern Britain are being barbarously murdered; the indignities inflicted on their corpses reminiscent of the gruesome practices of the Picts whom they fought so many years ago. The Empress Helena summons her secret agent, Claudia, in a bid to resolve these macabre occurrences. But Claudia has problems of her own. The perfectly preserved corpse of a young Christian woman has been disinterred in her uncle's garden and it falls to her to investigate this mystery too. Now she must track her way through a murky tangle of politics, religion and murderous violence, ever aware that the slightest mistake could cost her life. What readers are saying about Paul Doherty: 'A good example of historical fact and fiction mixed together, the past comes to life in front of your eyes' 'Paul Doherty's books are a joy to read' 'The sounds and smells of the period seem to waft from the pages of [Paul Doherty's] books'

Queen of the Night

Queen of the Night by Sharynne MacLeod NicMhacha
Publisher : Weiser Books
Release : 2005-01-01
More Info
Queen of the Night helps readers understand the role and power of the moon in the ancient religions, folklore, and mythology of Ireland and the British isles and then discover how to tap that power in their daily lives. Queen of the Night is a journey into the world of Celtic cosmology, shamanism, and sacred animals, as well as Celtic language, art, and culture, to discover the power and centrality of the moon. Since the earliest times, from stone circles and passage graves to the rites and customs of Druids, the moon has been the symbol of the Goddess and has played a crucial role in worship and celebration. In 13 chapters representing the moon's monthly and annual cycles, NicMhacha tells the story of Celtic moon mythology, as well as touching upon Greek, Hindu, and Norse traditions. Each chapter sets forth the role of the moon in Celtic tradition and culture and includes poetry, quotes, or prayers honoring the moon. At the end of each chapter, she offers meditations, ceremonies, and exercises to help readers connect with the moon and apply its power to their lives. From the world of fairies to bards, seekers, and shamans; from the moon's role in the secret meetings of women spinners to the role of sacred animals and mythic beings, Queen of the Night is a lively, informative, and transformative book for anyone who wants to understand and experience the power of the moon.

Queen of the Night

Queen of the Night by Leanne Hall
Publisher : Text Publishing
Release : 2012-02-27
More Info
In the sequel to the Text Prize-winning This Is Shyness, the dark is dangerous. So are your dreams. For six months Nia has tried to forget Wolfboy, the mysterious boy she met in Shyness. Then he calls, and the things he tells her draw her back to the strange suburb of Shyness, where Nia decides to become Wildgirl once more.

The Magic Flute

The Magic Flute by M. F. M. Van Den Berk
Publisher : BRILL
Release : 2004
More Info
This book demonstrates for the first time that Mozart's opera "Die Zauberflote" is an enactment of the alchemical "opus magnum," in the form of a "chemical wedding," using Paracelsus's "tria principia" doctrine that was strongly prevalent among Freemasons towards the end of the 18th century.

The Fear of the Feminine

The Fear of the Feminine by Erich Neumann
Publisher : Princeton University Press
Release : 2022-03-08
More Info
These essays by the famous analytical psychologist and student of creativity Erich Neumann belong in the context of the depth psychology of culture and reveal a prescient concern about the one-sidedness of patriarchal Western civilization. Neumann recommended a "cultural therapy" that he thought would redress a "fundamental ignorance" about feminine and masculine psychology, and he looked for societal healing to a "matriarchal consciousness" that forms the bridge between the feminine and the creative. Brought together here for the first time, the essays in the book discuss the psychological stages of woman's development, the moon and matriarchal consciousness, Mozart's Magic Flute, the meaning of the earth archetype for modern times, and the fear of the feminine. In Mozart's fantastic world, Neumann saw a true Auseinandersetzung--the conflict and coming-to-terms with each other of the matriarchal and the patriarchal worlds. Developing such a synthesis of the feminine and the masculine in the psychic reality of the individual and of the collective was, he argued, one of the fundamental, future-oriented tasks of both the society and the individual.